List of inspirational photographers (mostly from the past)

by anindya

I have read in so many interviews of great photographers and one thing that is quite common is the importance they put on learning the history of photography. One such recent interview I came across was with Arnold Newman. He said in the interview how could you not know the history of photography.

I went over few books on photographic history in last few months, but any photographic history book will contain photographers from different genres all of which may not necessarily interest me. So I ended up in listing few names (off course I missed few) whom I would like to follow and study their work. Here are the names I came up with:

  • Arnold Newman
  • HCB
  • Diane Arbus
  • Andre Kertez
  • Brassai
  • Dorothea Lange
  • Iise Bign
  • Berenica Abott
  • Helen Levitt
  • Clarence John Langhlin
  • Harry Callahan
  • Ralph Eugene Meatyard
  • Jun Shiroka
  • William Eggleston
  • Michael Spano
  • Marry Ellen Mark
  • Cindy Sherman
  • Rineke Dijkstra
  • Paul Graham
  • Judith Joy Ross
  • Sally Mann

There are definitely more photographers working now whose work I simply adore like DAH, Martin Parr, Alex Webb, Trent Parke and many more. What’s your list?

 

 

