Format versus Content

by anindya

What is more important to you? The format or content of your photography or both? I used to believe in sole content but looking at various artists work and how they evolved it seems to be that one drives the other. I recently fell in love with the work of Sally Mann. Even though I have seen her work before as well, but now I think I can connect to it in better way. She uses the Collodion Wet Plate method for all her photographs and she was ecstatic about it and told during the interview that she likes those little imperfections in her photographs. There are other artists too, who echo her words. Seeing this interview/video one thing that came to my mind is although the content is so core to ones whole body of work, the format and medium chosen carry some real importance as well.

